Hold Onto Your Emmy Gold Lame’ Is Coming Back

Several months back I began a mission to find all the must have pieces from my inspiration board. The piece that I was the most determined to find was a gold lame’ top that I planned to wear with the yellow blazer from A Peek into My Inspiration Board Military Style (https://myfashionforwardblog.wordpress.com/2012/09/25/a-peek-into-my-inspiration-board-military-style/ ) and a pair of distressed crop pants.  I had seen that combination featured in Instyle and loved it immediately. The reason the shirt ranked as my top prize was because I really didn’t think I could find one and I can never resist s challenge. After weeks of searching I finally found the creme de la creme of gold lame’ tops on the clearance rack at Macy’s and I snagged it. I did however break a cardinal rule of shopping when I made my purchase. You are never supposed to make a purchase if you can not create at least two outfits from it, and at the time I had only the one spring outfit in mind. So, from then on it hung in my closet taunting me daily about the fact that I had been beaten at my own game. That is until today. Today I have finally created a fall ensemble worthy of the gold lame top. The outfit featured below is now the crown jewel in my fall collection. The blazer is one that I got last year at Talbots. The gold lame’ top was the fashion inspiration I found at Macy’s, and the jeans are my favorite pair of Miss Me jeans.

The blazer is one of my favorite fall pieces. The burgandy color plays into the current jewel tone trends that are seen everywhere. It can easily be dressed up or dressed down depending on the situation. I have also worn the blazer to a Christmas concert at my daughter’s school. In that instance I paired the blazer with a denim crop pant and a brown knee boot. If you want to dress it up, pair it with a black trouser and classic heel and wear to dinner with friends or to an after 5 cocktail hour. When you are creating your wardrobe and incorporating unexpected elements, remember that you never know how something will look until you try it on. The way that a garment looks on a hanger is not necessarily what it will look like on you. Go into your shopping experience with an open mind and don’t rule anything out. In this case my reward was a spring and a winter outfit that I could not wait to share with everyone. If you were to open your mind to the experience what could you find? You never know until you try…

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on November 13, 2012, in Bargain Shopping, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Very nice, gold lame was used for my bridesmaids gowns in 1990 – lol

  2. Fun shirt! It looks great with that blazer!

  3. That looks awesome together!! I’d wear that :))

    Thanks for sharing with my NO RULES Weekend Blog Party!

    Paula
    lifeasweknowitbypaula.blogspot.com

  1. Pingback: With Puff Vests It Is All About Selection and Styling « myfashionforwardblog

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Fashion Rules to Follow From 2012 « myfashionforwardblog

  3. Pingback: The Fashion Forward Guide to Mardi Gras Style « myfashionforwardblog

Leave a comment