The Fashion Forward Guide to Mardi Gras Style

If you are from the South, you can not escape the buzz around the festivities that surround all the Mardi Gras celebrations that every town hosts. Mardi Gras  season officially begins on January 6th which is the 12th day of Christmas, also known as Epiphany or King’s Day.  Mardi Gras is an indulgent ceremony that though steeped in religious tradition is now surrounded by a host of parties, celebrations, and parades all culminating in a large ball on Fat Tuesday which is February 12th. If you are like me and looking for a fashion forward way to celebrate the season then look no further we have the perfect option for you. I am not a big t-shirt wearer so when it comes time to attend the festivities, I am looking for a the best color combination to celebrate the day.

image

Mardi Gras is a grand celebration that is typically known for the deep green, purple, and gold beads that are as much apart of Mardi Gras as the King Cake itself. When it comes to styling for a celebration like Mardi Gras, I always have my budget at the forefront of my mind. I am always looking for a deal on pieces that I would be able to wear again one day. The top featured here is the gold lame’ top that we styled in a previous article. I found the tank on clearance at Dillards for $17.99 and the purple skinny jean was at the end of season sale at New York and Company and were only $15. The entire look cost me less than $50 and are all pieces that I will wear again.

The key to creating a stylish wardrobe that will serve you well in all situations is to concentrate on expanding your color palette. Each holiday has signature colors that are associated with it, and if you have a large color assortment in your wardrobe then when it comes time to get ready for your next event you can look no further than your very own closet. So make this Mardi Gras season your best style effort yet.

Linking with
Monday Mingle
Daily Walk

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on January 8, 2013, in Bargain Shopping, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi
    Thanks for stopping by my Blog Hop,
    i will take your details & let you know when a spot to co-host opens
    X

Leave a Reply

