That is A Wrap Using the Wrap Top To Create Shape

Every Thursday we head to the field to watch my son hit the grid iron and pour his heart and soul onto the field. For him, its his time to shine and count how many times that the announcer says his name. For me, it’s an opportunity to show off my latest conquest in the retail arena. This week I am excited to say that fall has finally found us in the state of Texas and I get to pull out some of the long sleeve pieces I have been collecting since they hit the stores this season. This week’s featured outfits are all about the crossover top.  I love wrap tops because they are universally flattering and add interest to any outfit.

The first piece is a layered wrap top that I found at Macy’s. I love the cream color because I can pair it with almost anything in my closet. The lace detail adds a feminine flare that draws a great deal of compliments when I wear it. In addition to using the wrap top to accentuate the waistline (which is the smallest part of the body) I also added a belt to create the illusion of an hourglass shape. After two babies I assure you that is truly an illusion. The vibrant purple top is from the basics collection at J Crew. I love their t-shirts because they hold their color and their shape even after multiple washes. I finished the outfit off with 3 necklaces in brown and multi-colored beads for an additional pop of color.

The next option for this week is a pair of Miss Me Jeans paired with a wrap top from Victoria’s Secret. I do love it, but I will provide a word of caution about ordering that way. When the top was photographed in the catalogue it looked as if the detail had a backing, but when it arrived the detailing has no backing and you can see my shoulders through the detail. I chose to not accessorize the piece as not to compete with the beautiful detailing of the shirt.

If you do not own a wrap top or thought that you could never pull it off, I challenge you to open your mind and a fitting room and give it a try…I think you will like what you find. Feel free to stop by and give a shout out to your favorite fall top or what you find the first time that you tried a wrap top.

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on October 30, 2012, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a comment