The Stripes of Life

The funny thing about living in Texas is that when I am doing laundry it’s nothing out of the ordinary to pull shorts and sweatpants out of the dryer in the same load. When I woke up this morning it was 36 degrees outside (colder than it was in Chicago this morning) but by the time I got ready to get dressed and head to the polls it was in the seventies…go figure. So, for me What I Wore Wednesday has to be about both fashion and function. The outfit has to be something that I can be warm in during the wee hours of the morning as I drop the kids off at school, but lightweight enough not to be sweltering by the end of the day.

This outfit helps to fit that bill. In the morning I can throw a light jacket over the striped Henley (from J Crew) to keep warm ,and then shed in the evening as the temperature rises. As a petite shopper, I am always a big fan of the cuffed capri. I am able to roll them up enough that the bottom of the cuff actually hits me in the right spot. These capris are a pair of Miss Me jeans I found at the beginning of the spring. I love two things about Miss Jeans. First of all, I am a sucker for bling and Miss Me knows how to bring the bling. I also love their quality. I have washed the capris multiple times and they always hold their color and their shape..win win. The simple bangle necklace is one I got at  Macy’s. It has a matching cuff and dangling earrings. Simple enough to pull off in a casual setting, yet interesting enough to dress up an evening look. Who knows, with the weather down here next Wednesday I just may be showing you my snow suit and boots. Gotta love the Lone Star State.

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on October 31, 2012, in Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. nice combo!! It’s great to get an outfit that works in hot and cold. Thanks for joining in with Wardrovbe Weds

  2. That’s the same as New Zealand, four season in one day I tell ya!
    Thank you for linking up to Followers to Friend’s blog hop, I hope you met some cool new bloggy friends 🙂
    Happy Halloween x

    P.S. Shabby Apple are giving away a dress on my blog if you want to enter! http://www.sweetpeasylvie.com/2012/11/im-stylish-breastfeeding-mama-shabby.html

Leave a Reply

