The Pattern Maker

I fought long and hard against the trend of a patterned pant. I dug my heels in and refused to buy a pair of patterned pants….until today. I was walking by my local New York and Company minding my own business when this pair of black pants jumped out at me screaming “buy me buy” and I did. I had a $30 reward and the pants were on sale for half off so technically they were free.

The trick to styling a patterned pant is to create a balance by not overpowering your look with the addition of another pattern on top. If you have a bold pattern on your shirt and your pant then you have failed to use your clothes as a means to create shape. It is important when creating shape to have a defining point at the waistline. Also, too much pattern in one place can leave people feeling like they are in the midst of an 80’s flashback In the first option I have taken the shirt from Contrast the Collar with Style and paired it with the patterned pant and a black sequin tank. The pattern in the shirt is the perfect compliment to the dark tones in the pants. Also, the dress shirt patterns helps provide a more fashionable touch than a plain white dress shirt would have alone.
styling patterned pants

In the next option I paired the pants with a red sweater to add a bright pop of color.  For holiday I chose a red sweater but after the holidays you can continue the look by adding an emerald top which will be the “it” color for spring.
styling patterned pants

The key to choosing a patterned pant that will serve you over several seasons is to choose a pattern that will stand the test of time. Think along the lines of a pinstripe or a houndstooth pattern that is classic enough to be repeated over every season.  Those patterns will allow you to take part in the trend without purchasing a piece that you will wear for only one season.

Linking with
Mine for the Making
Katherines Corner
This Gal Cooks

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on December 18, 2012, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist, Thrifty Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That is so great that you got the pants for free! The plaid print is classic! Thanks for linking up 🙂

    -Sharon
    The Tiny Heart
    Dec. Group Giveaway!

  2. I love them – good choice!

  3. looks great to me! i’d wear this proudly!

    stopping in from the grow your blog blog hop!

    trish

  4. Free! score!!! Thank you for sharing at the hop 🙂

Leave a Reply

