Choosing the Perfect Capri

Springtime is just around the corner which means that it is almost time to trade in those trusty skinny jeans for a pair of denim capris. For spring, your denim capri will replace your skinny jean in your fashion arsenal. As you build the foundation of your spring wardrobe remember to choose a dark washed version, a distressed version, and a white denim version. Those three options will work with any color combinations that you can create.

image

Selecting the Perfect Style

Selecting the perfect capri style means finding the best fit for your body style. The first thing I look for when I am searching for the best denim capri is the right pocket style. I was not blessed with a lot of junk in my trunk, so I have to look for a pocket style that will help a girl out with that. I always choose a pocket with a button flap because it always adds volume. On the flip side if you are looking to detract from the rear area, then avoid a capri with a pocket for the same reason that I choose them. The next thing that you need to look for in a capri is the length. I am only 4 feet 11 inches so I always have trouble finding anything that is the right length. I always look for capri pants that are a straight leg version because then I cuff them in a variety of different ways to give my wardrobe versatility. I also like to choose a straight leg version of a capri because in the winter months they can serve double duty as the option I use in lieu of my skinny jeans when I wear boots.  As you cuff your capri, remember that the smaller the roll of your cuff, the tighter the cuff will be. When you choose to cuff your capri in a tight roll, style it with a nice ballet flat..  For more casual settings, you can choose to a wide roll that will look great with a flip-flop or a casual sandal.   As you begin your fashion quest for spring feel free to stop back by and give a shout out to your favorite capri..in case you were wondering mine is the version featured above and is the Miss Me capri…

My Turn For Us
TGIFriday
Aloha Friday
Friday Chaos
The Life of the Party
Friendly Friday
I love my post

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on January 4, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Closet Organization, Fall, Fashion Friday, Fashion Trends, Holiday Style, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Hi Leslie,
    Thank you for linking up to the Thumping Thursdays Blog Hop.

    Karina
    http://momintheusa.blogspot.com

  2. You have a wonderful blog!! I’m your newest “email” follower from the “Grow Your blog” blog hop – this is my blog if you wanted to follow back: godsgrowinggarden.com
    Thanks
    Angie
    PS – I would also like to invite you to a new Blog hop on my blog called “The Great Blog Train” if you wanted to participate.

  3. Hi Leslie, Thanks for the great style tips! =)
    I need to go shopping..and keep putting it off…
    Im your newest twitter and email follower from the “Grow your blog” blog hop.
    Melissa @ http://myrecentfavoritebooks.wordpress.com/

  4. Great Tips! -Marci

    Thank you for linking up to The Great Blog Train!
    Angie@godsgrowinggarden.com
    Marci@stonecottageadventures.com
    Helen@blueeyedbeautyblogg.blogspot.com

  5. morethanmommies

    Thanks for linking up at the MTMmixer this week.

    It’s refreshing to read about the possibility of Spring when there is snow on the ground…I can’t WAIT!!!

  6. Hi. I’m a new follower from Thursdays Blog Hop. Please stop by Blended4Purpose and leave a comment.

    Blessings~
    Alethea

  7. Wow! That’s really informative and helpful! I am vertically challenged as you are. BUT….I was blessed with a little TOO much junk in the trunk! Really enjoyed this! ~Tammy

  8. So nice to think about warmer weather and I can’t wait until it’s actually warm enough to wear capris! Thanks for linking up with the #MTMmixer this week!

  9. dianaramblesdotcom

    Someone called me lard ass when I was a kid, but it must not be true because I need that flap on my jeans!!

  1. Pingback: There is More than One Way to Rock a Color Trend « myfashionforwardblog

  2. Pingback: The Down and Dirty on Denim for Spring « myfashionforwardblog

Leave a comment