The Down and Dirty on Denim for Spring

Spring is about mixing it up and shaking off the snow from winter. The warm weather means that the time has come to have fun with fit and fabric. What better way to accomplish that goal than by bringing out your trusty denim jacket. Denim can be a great alternative to a blazer or a cardigan in a casual setting. Denim can be a tricky fabric to work with if you let it. Lucky for you we are here to break it down for you fashion forward style.

Choose the Right Color

Color is one of those all important components when it comes to denim. If you choose the wrong shade then you have jeopardized the entire outfit. Denim jackets should be a dark wash. Reserve the stone washed looks for a quirky vest. Dark washed denim is stylish without screaming this is the place where the eighties came to die.

Choose the Right Bottom Option

Denim should never be worn with a denim bottom. That look is way to cliche and is so over. Instead pair your denim jacket with a khaki trouser or walking short. In the outfit featured hear it is paired with a khaki capri for the early spring, but later I can trade that in for a khaki walking short. Denim jackets are also a great option to style with a flowy cotton skirt for a rodeo chic option.
image

Choose the Right Occasion

Denim is a super casual option and one that is typically not office appropriate. Unless your office is a cattle ranch, leave the denim at home during business hours. Bring your denim style to light whenever you are seeking a stylish yet comfortable feel for a casual day out and about.  I will wear my denim look shopping or to a sporting event. Anytime you find yourself in a situation where you will be outside or on your feet for a prolonged amount of time , denim is your friend.

So the next time you are looking to mix it up, pull your trusty friend the denim jacket out and style away.

Linking with
All Things Chic

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on January 15, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have seen a lot of denim jackets in trendy fashion lately. Your article is SPOT on about wearing it properly (from what I have seen). I have never worn a denim jacket ever, but after looking at your picture and reading your post I am thinking that I want to try the look for myself. Thank you for inspiring me to move into uncharted fashion territory! I LOVE YOUR BLOG!

  2. I love my jeans… finding the right fit can be hard, but once found… they are amazing… great post… thank you

  3. You just can’t go wrong with denim. I wear it on a weekly basis.

Leave a Reply

