Colorblocking, Coupons, and You

This episode of Thrifty Thursday comes to you courtesy of our good friends at J. Crew.  I found this particular piece at a J. Crew outlet in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.  Some people plan their vacations around where to find the best food, I plan mine around where to find the best shopping. Myrtle Beach, South Carolina is home to one of the largest outlet malls in the country, Tanger Outlet Center. So, while the kids enjoyed the zip lines and the crashing waves, I plotted my course through my own personal playground. I love to frequent the outlet centers because more often than not you can find an almost identical version of what is in the current retail store for half the price. In this case I found the sweater that was normally $60 on sale for $19.99. This sweater is another example of integrating colorblocking into your everyday wardrobe in much the same way we did in Black and Blue and You Can Too ( https://myfashionforwardblog.wordpress.com/2012/11/06/black-and-blue-and-you-can-too/ ). In this instance I style the sweater with a skinny jean and a navy canvas shoe in order to round out the casual weekend feel.

I also feature the necklace I was able to get with the city cash I redeemed this week. Since it was on sale for half off and I had my plethora of city cash to redeem, I was able to pick it up for a mere $4.75. I do have a system when it comes to using coupons and promotional offers. First, when they are issued, I put a reminder in my phone for the day that redemption starts.  That way I never let my coupons expire. Then,  in the few days prior to the beginning of redemption I plot my plan of action. I compile my list based on the items I need to complete my inspiration board and then I  begin calculating how to get the most for my money. The goal is to price each item and then determine which combination of items allows me to purchase everything on my list. In the event I am unable to afford everything on my list, I must determine which items are must have and which items can actually wait for the next coupon. If  I can complete an outfit using a piece I already own then that particular item falls into the it can wait category. Once I have my list finalized, I am ready to go. By this time I am familiar with the coupon policy of each store. If though you have not read the fine print on the back of your coupon then make sure you take a few minutes to school yourself on the policy of each store. Some people allow you to use their coupons on clearance merchandise and some do not. The more items you can find on the clearance rack, the farther your wardrobe dollars go.  However you choose to prioritize your shopping list is truly up to you. The most important thing to remember is to stop letting those store rewards go to waste. You earned them and you deserve to enjoy the fruits of your labor.

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on November 15, 2012, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist, Thrifty Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Super cute sweater, I would so wear that!

  2. I’m obsessed with stripes and I love this sweater! There’s an outlet mall right near me and you can get pretty good deals there. Thanks so much for linking up!!

    -Sharon

  1. Pingback: There is More than One Way to Rock a Color Trend « myfashionforwardblog

Leave a comment