Incorporating Denim Fashion Forward Style

For most women,  styling denim revolves around choosing the perfect pair of jeans.  However, your denim option does not end there. There is an entire world of denim out there to explore.  One of my new favorite looks to play with is a great sleeveless denim vest. As I was walking in the mall recently, I found a great denim vest that spoke to me. Once I arrived back home, I was inspired to create a variety of looks that would showcase my new find.

Styling the Denim Vest

Choose the Right Vest

As with any great piece in your wardrobe, you need to think about the shapes that each look will create.  It is important to create a balanced look by choosing the right fit. Your denim vest should not have a snug fit. Anytime that your denim piece is too tight, you cheapen your overall look.  Choose a denim vest that has some give in the fabric and then create shape by choosing a fitted top to style your denim with. In the winter and spring, I style my denim vest with a ribbed turtleneck as a way to create shape.  When you are choosing your vest,  the most important fit to look for is the fit in the bust and the length of the vest. The vest fits properly in the bust when it will button without strain.  As you choose the length of the vest that you are purchasing keep in mind what you will be wearing the vest with.  If the piece you are pairing it with is long, then choose a shorter version of the denim vest, and a longer vest if you are working with a shorter  piece.

Style it Well

Once you have selected your perfect vest,  the next step is to style it well. There are several ways to incorporate the denim vest  into your  wardrobe. In Channel Your Inner Rodeo Queen, we demonstrated how to style the denim vest with a casual dress. If that is your ultimate style combination, then opt for a shorter vest as a way to create height. In the piece featured above, the denim vests are styled with colored capris as a way to add interest to your overall look. In the summer, style your denim vest with a tank top and a great pair of white or capri shorts.

The denim vest is a great, versatile piece to add to your wardrobe. How will you style it this spring and summer?

Linking With:

Plane Pretty     Market Yourself Monday     Create With Joy    Lip Gloss and Crayons    Covered in Grace

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on March 3, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. I really like the outfit with white jeans! What are your thoughts on wearing white regardless the time of year? Visiting from SITS! 🙂

  2. I love this skinny jeans and sleeveless vest look. Very cool! I particularly like the white! You have a new follower here. 🙂

  3. I love the outfit in the middle–the striped pants are so cute!!! I’d wear this IF I was thin enough!!!!

  4. This is a great idea for a blog! 🙂 Have a great SITS Day, and enjoy your day in the sun! 🙂

  5. Hi, visiting u from thesits. denim vest and striking pink jeans is a superb combination. Thanks for sharing the idea. Looking forward to read the rest of your blog.

    Honeybee
    http://herweightlossdiary.blogspot.com

  6. I am so curious to try out a pair of colored jeans. Those pink ones are pretty cute!

    -Sarah
    http://www.sweetandsavorylife.com
    http://www.facebook.com/sweetandsavorylife

  7. I used to LOVE vests! Am realizing I need to get back into wearing them! 🙂 Stopping by from SITS to wish you a happy SITS day!

  8. I like the idea of layering a denim vest over a fitted tee. Great looks! Thanks for linking up to Vis Monday.

  9. Happy SITS Day to you!!

  10. Love your blog. I live in denim! Congrats on being featured at SITS, have a great one!

  11. Congrats on your feature on SITS. I don’t own a denim vest, but looks like a cool fashion to purchase 🙂

  12. Congratulations on your SITS day. I hope it’s a great day for you.

    Cute outfits!

  13. Whoa, those stripey pants! I wish I could do vests but I just look… wrong.

    Have a great SITS Day!

  14. Happy SITS day! 😀

  15. Love those outfits, you have a good eye for fashion! Love the Blog. Following….

    Happy SITS Day to you~

    Jeanine

  16. Congrats on being Featured Blogger for SITS. Hope you are enjoying your day. Love your designs and layouts. Have a blessed day!

  17. Cute outfits!

    {{ stopping by from SITS }}

  18. Happy SITS Day, lady! Love your penchant for fashion… you got me thinking about some new ways to restyle some of the cool finds I already have. So, thanks.

    I hope you’re having a wonderful, wonderful SITS Day… keep on keeping on!

  19. Congrats on SITS Day!!! Love the blog already 🙂

  20. I love those black and white pants! I’m not sure I could pull them off, but they are eye catching! Congrats on being featured on SITS!

  21. Visiting from SITS! Love this denim guide! It’s really in this season so thanks for helping us style ourselves to be in style!

  22. I’ve always had a distaste for the stripe/pattern jeans. I don’t know why but they just make my eyes focus way too hard especially stripes. Stopping by from SITs

  23. Oh I love those black and white striped pants. Slimming and fashionable. Happy SITS Day!

  24. Stopping by from SITS
    Congratulations on being featured, Leslie!
    This blog is awesome 🙂
    Have a good day.

Leave a Reply

