Choosing the Perfect Dress

I will admit that the dress is not my favorite piece in my style arsenal. In fact the thought of my thighs rubbing together is a mental image I could do without. Having said that, the ability to choose the perfect dress is a necessary skill for any woman. If you are going to do something, you may as well do it right I guess.

Creating Shape

The is most important thing that any piece of clothing can do for you is to create the right shape. Shape is created by placing design elements in the appropriate place on the garment. In the pieces featured above, shape was created using several techniques. First of all, the belted waist will accentuate the smallest part of your body and create an instant hourglass shape. The other dress created shape by gathering at the bust line and flaring out. When it comes to that method of creating shape, always try the garment on. For the garment to be the most flattering option possible it is essential that the line at the bust fall in the right spot, otherwise the overall look will be very awkward. Also, depending on the size of your bust, the flare can sometimes create a box like shape.

Choosing the Perfect Dress

Choosing A Style

The style of dress that you choose will of course be determined by the event that you are attending. Structured fabrics are appropriate for more formal occasions while jersey style materials are appropriate for casual settings.  Also consider the setting that you will be in when you decide whether or not it is appropriate to choose a sleeveless option. One quick option to change a sleeveless dress into an appropriate formal option though is to add a simple cardigan. In that way you will have an option that is appropriate for multiple settings.

Choosing a Length

The length of your dress will be determined by both your height and your shape. If you are petite, choose a dress that falls just above the knee because it will create the illusion of height. If you are taller, you can opt for a longer dress that will give off a more sophisticated vibe. Finally, consider the shape of your legs. If your thighs are thicker you will want to choose a longer version that will counteract the shape.

Will you rock a dress this season?

Linking With

Aloha Friday     FPL     Create With Joy     Freedom Fridays     Friday Follow     Today With the Tennerys

Chubby Cheeks Thinks    AM Blog Design    Oh So Amelia

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on February 22, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fashion, Fashion Friday, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Great info. I love wearing dresses when it is super hot outside.

  2. LOVE all these dresses – especially the last 2! ~ Glad to have found your blog! Happy Friday to all!

  3. The older I get the more I enjoy wearing dresses and skirts esp since my girlish figure isn’t so girlish anymore – lol. Blog hopping from You Like Me! have a fantastical weekend!

  4. Aloha dear! I’m so glad I came across your blog! I’m a new follower (via email, twitter, fb).
    Honestly I would wear all the dresses displayed, as I’m a dress kind of girl 🙂 I have an exact copycat of the coral pleated one! Hope you’ll get the chance to stop by and follow back if you like 🙂
    Love, Coco
    http://www.pinktopping.blogspot.it/

  5. cute blog<3 Found you though the friday blog hop!

    Townhouse Palette

  6. Thanks for the “Like” on facebook! I can only “like” from my business page on facebook, so it doesn’t allow me to “like” back others “personal” pages! Have a happy week-end!

  7. That purple dress is really cute. All I wear is dresses in the spring and summertime. I used to wear them all through the year and even in the wintertime, but have since stopped that – too cold and don’t feel like slipping on ice. I love heels and knee-length dresses. I also love flirty skirts that I can twirl.

    I’m stopping by from Create with Joy’s Friendship Friday Linky. Have a great weekend!

    http://artpark78.com/blog1

  8. These are all cute but that purple one is my favorite!

    Visiting today from Raising Imperfection. 🙂

  9. Dresses are my favorite thing to wear. I love vintage dresses especially. I only wear skirts and dresses, so I will undoubtedly be wearing dresses this season!
    Chandra

    More Modern Modesty
    http://www.momomod.com

  10. I love this red dress with the little black belt 🙂

Leave a Reply

