Tie it Up With a Bow

As part of my quest to get out of my fashion rut this year, I have begun to explore new stores and new looks.  One day while I was on Pinterest I found this great new look that I could not wait to try. There was a sweater with an owl appliqued to the front of the sweater and then paired with a plaid blazer.  Thus, the hunt began for the perfect sweater to pair with the tweed blazer that I already had. I knew that none of the stores that I normally shop in had one, so that meant venturing out into new territory.  I found this sweater hanging in the window of a store that I never go into. The result of my quest is featured below.
image

There are a couple of options when you find yourself in a total fashion rut. First, look for patterns in your shopping habits. Do you always visit the same shopping center? Do you always visit the same stores? If you only visit a handful of stores while you shop, then more often than not your look will never evolve. Part of the retail cycle is that colors and patterns are often repeated from one season to the next in an effort to remain cost-effective.  If you are going to get out of your rut, then branch out when it comes to the places that you shop. Walk into a store that you have never visited and take the time to explore the options that are available to you. Check out a shopping center that you have never visited before. Some of the most unique options will be found in boutiques and not chain stores. You may even surprise yourself and find a new favorite to add to the list.

Then, take the time to do a wardrobe evaluation. Are there colors that you gravitate to more than others? For me, those two colors have always been black and brown. Once I realized that, I made a vow to go for an entire season without purchasing anything else that was black or brown. That one commitment forced me to get outside my box and experiment with colors that I may have otherwise rejected. I was still able to select things in flattering silhouettes, and expand my wardrobe at the same time. If the majority of your wardrobe is comprised of one or two colors then I challenge you to make the same commitment.

Fashion forward style is about getting out of the box and trying new and interesting fabric, textures and colors. So, the next time you head out for a day of shop til you drop try something new and different and see where the journey takes you. Now, its your turn to sound off. What is one way that you will get out of your fashion rut this season?

Linking with:

Peacoats and Plaid   Create With Joy   Market Yourself Monday   Covered in Grace Yolo Monday This Gal Cooks

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on February 10, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fashion, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Good idea, MFash! I have vowed to not add another black skirt for at least a year : > Thanks for linking up to Visible Monday.

  2. I love this sweater!! So Cute!

  3. I love trying out new looks and I love that sweater!

Leave a Reply

