White As The Forbidden Fashion Color No More

Anyone that knows me also knows that Grace is not my middle name, and that means that for a large part of my life I have avoided white as a basic rule of fashion.  In this past year though I have tried to expand my fashion horizons which means that I am making an attempt to break some of my own fashion rules. This week I am branching out and tackling the color white. Nothing says spring and summer like a basic white bottom and I was not going to be left out of that statement.
image

There are a couple of basic fashion rules to follow when it comes to choosing a white bottom:

1. Consider the fabric content: never purchase a white bottom without trying them on first. The most important thing to remember is to choose a fabric that is loose enough and thick enough to camouflage your skin and undergarments.

2.  Choose the right undergarments: When you are choosing a white bottom the old school rule was to wear white undergarments, but in actuality, the white on white combination draws attention to your undergarments by creating a bright spot. Choose your undergarments based on your skin tone because they will blend the best and avoid lines.

3. Go bold with tops and accessories: This is the time to let your wildest, brightest accessories and patterns shine. Allow the neutral palette to bring their intensity to a new level.

4. Wear Like You Own It: the number one fashion rule is that if you are confident then you can do no wrong.

5. Care for your whites properly: The biggest issue with wearing white is the care and upkeep. First, pre-treat your whites with a scotch guard that will protect them from those annoying spills during the day. Then, treat all stains and issues immediately in order to avoid the issue of the stain setting. Avoid over bleaching as bleach will break down the fabric content of the garment if it is used repeatedly. Finally, treat your whites with a bit of lemon juice or white vinegar prior to washing to avoid yellowing around the collar and underarms.

Linking With

Rae Gun Wear

My Girlish Whims

Vintage Apple

Rolled Up Pretty

I Am Pisces W

Because Shanna Said So

Dysfunction Junction

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on February 6, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Beauty, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist, What I Wore Wednesday, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Cute outfit, I actually added a few pairs of white capris to my wardrobe last summer and believe it or not. No stains so they are good for this year 🙂 Thanks for the lemon tip. I drink fresh warm lemon water every morning so now I have an additional use for the lemon.

  2. I have stayed away from white clothing myself forever and also make sure to buy my children dark clothing, usually navy or black because white clothing just doesn’t survive at our house:(

    Bobbie Anne

  3. I have always tried to stay away from white. Some people can wear white and get away with it but I have never tried. I usually wear brown or black as it is easy to match with other clothing. 🙂 Great post!!

  4. I have always worn white much to my mother’s dismay! She thought I was too heavy to wear white slacks or jeans–now that I have lost weight maybe she will leave me alone!! (Yeah Right!) I live the tips on the care–I’m one of those people who manages to spill something on myself–I have to buy a whole new bunch of white tees for the summer-every summer!

  5. Found you through the Advertise with Bloggers blog hop. Just wanted to pop over and say hello. Hope you have a wonderful week!!!

    BTW- I have 4 giveaways going on this week if you’re interested.

  6. I wear white in the spring and summer a lot, but avoid it in the fall and winter months. But I just might go out and buy me something winter white. 🙂 Great tips!

  7. Hey, I am totally a wearer of white year round! Love the post and the blog, am now following along from the hop!!

  8. Stopping by from Tea on Tuesday and so glad I found your blog. I’m a total mess when it comes to fashion.
    Cinella @ The Mami Blog

  9. Never bleach anything white and do not use any fabric softer it will always cause white to yellow. Wash in hot water only.

  10. This outfit is cute! I never get to indulge in white because we have well water that turns it ugly dingy. *sigh*

    I’m visiting today from Raising Imperfection. 🙂

  11. I love the tip about the lemon for whites. I am going to try that out.

    Thanks for sharing your favorite post at Raising Imperfection! We feature our favorites on Friday, make sure to come back and check.
    Leslie
    http://www.violetimperfection.com

  12. Love the top. Great tips for wearing white.

  13. I love white ~ you can do so much with it! Thank you for the tips!

    Thank you for linking to Raising Imperfection.
    Please come back Friday to see if you were featured.

    ¤´¨)
    ¸.•*´
    (¸¤ Lanaya | xoxo
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

Leave a Reply

