How to Choose the Best Accessories

A great accessory is the cornerstone of any outfit, but with so many options out there how do you know which ones to choose to add to your collection? Here are a few tried and true rules to help you navigate the jungle that is the world of accessories.How to Choose the Best Accessories
Sunglasses
Sunglasses can be a tricky order, especially for me because  the state of Texas has this silly requirement that to drive on their roads, I have to wear glasses. This year though I took the plunge and invested in a pair of prescription sunglasses. The trick to sunglasses is that everyone should own at least two pair: a black pair and a brown pair. The biggest factor in choosing the perfect pair of sunshades is to consider the shape and scale of your face. I have a smaller face, so  some of the trends of large round glasses never look good on me. Instead I opt for more of a small, round shape when it comes to sunglasses.  Before selecting your next pair of shades,  check your face shape and choose the opposite shape for your shades and you will be ready for whatever summer has to throw at you.
Bracelets
Bracelets are another great way to incorporate trends into your wardrobe without braking the bank.  In addition to choosing a great mix of metals, you can also incorporate color trends into your wardrobe with the purchase of a bracelet.  The bracelet on the left is an excellent example of how to incorporate the tribal trend into your wardrobe.  Bangles are also a must have in every accessory collection. In fact, it never hurts to have both a silver and a gold option, you never know when they will come in handy. Finally, you must learn the art and science of stacking bracelets. When you stack bracelets, choose two larger pieces that are the anchor of your look and then choose smaller pieces that will make up the center of the piece.
Now, its your turn to sound off…what accessory trends are you rocking this summer?
Linking with:

H m
$6.32 – hm.com

Vanity Her crystal jewelry
$88 – pret-a-beaute.com

Antik Batik cuff bracelet
$67 – reddirect.co.uk

Cotton scarve
cottonon.com

Paul smith
$82 – harveynichols.com

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on February 5, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Beauty, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Blog hopping from Frugal Living and More – love the sunnies – can’t wait until the sun starts shining again!

  2. Thanks for this! I love to see fashion ideas! New follower from Tea on Tues hop. http://www.ourchangingnestnowwhat.blogspot.com I look forward to reading more! Sandra

  3. I’m not great at choosing accessories–so thanks for the tips 🙂

  4. Great tips!! I need all the help I can get 🙂

  5. I choose my sunglasses based on what I won’t break 🙂
    ✰Transatlantic Blonde✰

  1. Pingback: The Fashion Forward Formula | myfashionforwardblog

Leave a Reply

