How to Choose Casual Valentine’s Day Style

In life I believe that Valentine’s Day is a holiday made up by card makers, candy pushers and lotion sellers and as a protest, my husband and I never celebrate it. In fashion though, I am always looking for an excuse to buy a new outfit and Valentine’s Day is no different.  So, I hit the stores and began my mission for the perfect Valentine’s Day look. I am not one though that likes to choose traditional colors and pairings when it comes to styling a holiday outfit.  I knew from the beginning that creating a look out of the traditional combination of pink and red was not for me. I also knew that my look needed to be super casual because my husband and I are not one of those couples that would be heading out for fine dining at its best on Valentine’s Day. I found the perfect solution for all of my requirements at New York and Company where I score my vest on clearance for $15.

image

For my look today I chose to pair a white fitted sweater with one of my favorite pairs of skinny jeans and I topped the look of f by layering it with a vibrant pink vest.  The key to choosing the perfect Valentine’s Day outfit without looking too cliché’ is to avoid the obvious color pairings when you choose your outfit. In this instance, I chose the vibrant pink as the color to represent the holiday, but I avoided adding any version of red which would have driven me into cliché’ territory. I chose white as the fitted option used to create the hourglass shape, but you could also have chosen to use gray as another option to pair with the vibrant pink vest if you feel like the pink and white pairing is not original enough.  As with any other layering choice, you need to strike the perfect balance of loose and fitted in order to create the all important hourglass shape.  The fitted top and the skinny jean create clean lines while the volume of the vest rounds out the hourglass shape. The other benefit to avoiding the obvious color pairing is that all of the pieces in the look can be paired with other items that I already own to create a completely separate look which will help stretch those all important wardrobe dollars.

Now its your turn to sound off..how will you be celebrating Valentine’s Day this year?

Linking With

This Gal Cooks

Lip Gloss and Crayons

SumosSweetStuff

Covered in Grace
Momtrends
Sensational Creations

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on February 3, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Handbags, Holiday Style, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I love how this look fits! The white sweater is designed for slimming and I think it is perfect for those of us attempting to look smaller than we are. Great job!

  2. Love that vibrant pink vest! Thanks for linking up.

  3. Great vest! I love things that don’t scream Valentine’s. This is perfect.

  4. Fantastic vest! It’s perfect for a casual Valentine’s Day! Thanks for linking up!
    Tara
    Penniless Socialite

  5. Puffy vests are great! They’re cute AND warm! Thanks for linking up with us 🙂

    -Sharon
    The Tiny Heart
    Necklace Giveaway!

  6. we make our own gifts and then usually just make a big dinner at home…nothing too fancy, but we like it! i love this vest…and i love it paired with that fun necklace!

  7. I love how simple and chic this look is! We HATE going to dinner on Valentine’s Day because everywhere is crowded. This year, I am making dinner at home on V-Day, and then we are hosting a V-Day dinner party with a few other couples on Saturday. I’m exhausted just thinking about it! I hope you and your hubby have a “sweet” one!

  8. Love that vest, so bright and pretty!

  9. Love pink and red paired together!

Leave a Reply

