Styling Colored Capris

With the onset of spring comes the time for bold colors in fashion, and nowhere is that statement stronger than in the colored denim trend that has been sweeping the nation for the last several seasons. I will admit that in the beginning I was dead set against rocking this trend because I felt like at the end of the day I would always be looking like I was playing dress up.  This season though, I have thrown caution to the wind and decided to embrace the trend for all it is worth and you know what? I actually found some pieces that I love.Styling Colored Capris
For me, the key to finally embracing this trend was to find colors that I would be comfortable in. In this case I chose the turquoise and pink color for their fun and flirty quality. The black option is a classic that will serve me well in every social situation. As you begin to look for pieces to pair with your colored denim, remember to choose pieces that look like they are going to the same party. As you are choosing the top that you are going to pair with your colored denim, opt for neutral colors that will downplay the intensity of the denim. In this case the striped sweater and the denim top were the perfect neutral option for the colors that I selected.  My final fashion tip when it comes to styling colored denim is to choose bold accessories that will add a pop of style to your entire look. If your top is a solid color choose a 3 piece combination of a statement necklace, a ring and earrings as your bold fashion statement. However, if you opt for an item like the striped sweater that makes a statement on its own choose only a great pair of earrings and a statement ring so that your look does not look too overworked. Now its your turn..how will you rock the colored denim trend this season?
Linking With:

Cardigan
review-australia.com

SELECTED print tee
$53 – zalando.co.uk

Rich & Skinny skinny fit jeans
saksfifthavenue.com

Earrings
adabelles.com

<div style="margin-bottom:8px;text

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on January 30, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist, What I Wore Wednesday, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Love the turquoise, and I got a pair of pink pants for Christmas and I LOVE them! It’s a fun trend.

  2. Visiting from SITS! I saw your “recent post” title and just had to check it out. Love the outfits you put together. My favorite is the one on the far right. I’m a total chambray and skinny jean girl.

  3. I really like the first two options a lot. I bought a pair of pink skinny jeans one time and my hubs laughed so hard at me I took them back the next day. It’s probably best if I stick with basic colors. You are so right about the accessories!

    Happy Saturday Sharefest!

  4. I love the middle look the best.

  5. What great combinations! Love the way the color and the neutrals play off each other and are accented with the bold accessories! I am still trying to get the nerve to try something like this, so seeing how well it works is encouraging for me! (visiting from SITS)

  6. I love colored denim! They are so fun to wear. Love the outfits you’ve put together I’m visiting over from SITS. Your post caught my eye because I posted this week about colored workout capris so naturally I wanted to read your post! Have a great weekend.

  7. I LOOOOOVVVVEEE the colored denim!!
    Stopping by from SITS 😉

  8. I still haven’t done coloured denim. I’m not a huge fan of my lower half so I stick to dark washes!

    ✰Transatlantic Blonde✰

  9. I love the turquoise jeans! I so wish I could pull that look off. One of these days! HaHa, until then I will have fun dreaming…
    Tabby
    http://www.shoppingwives.com

  10. Great combos. I love the rings you chose; I’m a sucker for a great ring. I hope you have fun playing with your wardrobe.

    Happy Sharefest. I hope you have a lovely weekend.

  11. I just might take the plunge this year and go with the turquoise color! I need some new jeans and feel more confident in myself this year! I would probably pair it with a white or black tee and some turquoise jewelry! I love that black and white striped tee you have showing!

  12. I love the black with the grey shirt, I think it could be my style!

  13. loving the pink! i would love to have these in my wardrobe 🙂

  14. I do see this style is coming back around the College. Thanks for hooking up with Thirsty for Thursday this week.

  1. Pingback: Incorporating Denim Fashion Forward Style | myfashionforwardblog

Leave a Reply

