How to Style Spring Pastels

If you are like me and are counting the days until the dawn of spring, then today is your lucky today. For me, spring is about retiring the dark jewel tones of the fall and winter and breaking out the bright bold colors that indicate that warm weather is just around the bend. One of the biggest challenges that people face in the spring is what to do with all of those pastel pieces that flood the racks of your local stores. Styling Spring Pastels
Style Your Pastels With Neutrals
Pastels can be difficult to style without looking like you are on your way to an Easter parade. Start by pairing your pastel top or bottom with a neutral color. By pairing your pastel garment with a neutral color like black, gray, or white you actually brighten the color of the pastel. By pairing the aqua halter top with the white capri, the aqua actually becomes a brighter version of its former self.
Pair Your Pastel With A Print
If you want to break up the sweet, feminine feel of the capri and avoid the Easter parade trap then you could opt to pair your pastel piece with a floral print. The print will soften the pastel and add interest to your garment. If you really want to be adventurous, choose a neon print and rock two trends at once.
Style Your Pastel Capri With a Denim Top
Another hot trend that always pops up during the spring season is the distressed denim button up. I found a fabulous option this season at J. Crew (which is where I find the majority of the basic items in my wardrobe). The key to choosing the perfect denim top is to avoid the cliché of the denim top with the pear snaps. Look for denim tops in a distressed soft color that has true buttons rather than snaps.
Spring is the time to embrace adventure and this year the adventure that I am embracing is the pastel…Now its your turn which trend will you embrace this season?
Linking With

Wrap blouse
modewalk.com

Pink v neck t shirt
$22 – eluxe.ca

Cimarron
$105 – placedestendances.com

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on January 27, 2013, in Bargain Shopping, Beauty, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. I’m loving the halter top outfit! You are seriously making me more fashionable and I LOVE you for that!

    Thank you for linking your favorite post of this week to Raising Imperfection.
    Please come back Friday to see if you were featured 🙂

    xoxo
    Lanaya
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

  2. I love the middle outfit, it is so pretty!

    Thank you for linking up to Raising Imperfection!
    Make sure to check back on Friday to see if you were featured.
    Leslie

  3. I love that combination of lilac and grey. So “quiet” and elegant!

    Visiting today {and now following along!} from the GFC Collective at Antlers & Roses. I’m also doing a link-up … stop by and include your post if you’d like!

  4. Thanks for linking up to Visible Monday! These pastel outfits look so fresh and pretty after months of gray.

  5. I’m not a big pastel person but after seeing these cute outfits, I sure can be.

  6. I found you from This Gal Cooks. After seeing so much food, your post caught my eye. I am so looking forward to spring, and love these new colors. Thank you for laying this out in such a user friendly way. I need to subscribe!!

    Read mine:
    http://www.thelostapron.com/2013/01/football-cookies.html

  7. I’m loving pastels right now- great tips!

    Lindsey
    http://thriftandshout.blogspot.com

  8. Love these cute pairings! New follower via Twitter!

  9. What fabulous tips! Pastels are my fave, but I have such difficulty styling them sometimes! I love the idea of pairing pastel with a denim top– will be trying that soon!

    Kate @ A Journey in Style

  10. These are some great tips thanks! I am a fashion disaster lol I’m a new follower of your blog from the Monday Mingle Blog Hop! Would love if you could stop by mine. Thanks :0)

    The Three Whiskateers
    http://thethreewhiskateers.blogspot.com/

  11. Very cute! I would love for you to share this or any of your great ideas at the link party going on now (and every Saturday through Tuesday) at ‘Or so she says …’ Hope to see you there! http://www.oneshetwoshe.com

  12. Hi glad to meet you this is m first time to this meet up, looking to connect and build relationships, I love style and that first outfit is my style, though I like all of them. You can stop by and visit me at my healthy living blog, something for everyone at
    http:/fitandbeyond40.com
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Fit-And-Beyond-40/514406535245118?ref=hl

    I am following you so I can keep my eyes on the trends.

  13. Hi there! I’m a little late but i’m stopping by from the Monday Meet up. I LOVE those colors & I’m so excited for spring! I’ve picked my 2 new favorite colors for spring as mint & coral. I can’t wait, ahh!! Your post made me happy 🙂 Sorry i got excited. I hope you’ve had a great day.

    Nikki
    http://www.TheCraftySideOfSarcasm.com

  14. I love these ideas! I am seeing pastels everywhere and I admit they are scaring the heck out of me because they remind me of the 80s 🙂 But these looks are cool and modern!

  15. I rarely wear pastels because I’m too pale. I like the look of them on the hangar but not on me. I’m seeing a lot of citrus colors in stores. Those I’m going to avoid. Too 70’s kitchen look. Enjoy your SITS Day.

  16. Oh I am just warm all over looking at these precious pastel colors!!! Come on SPRING!!! Happy SITS day!!!

  17. Love the aqua halter and white capris! I might be brave and rock the white pants this year. I think we might finally be outgrowing the “wipe your peanut buttery face on Mommy” phase! 😉

  18. Love that aqua top and this beautiful pairing of colors and styles. Thanks for sharing and Happy SITS Day!

  19. I love all three outfits!!!

  20. Great advice – pastels are my favorite!

  21. Pastels are pretty but I too fair to wear them 😦

  1. Pingback: My Fashion Forward Blog - The SITS Girls

Leave a Reply

