How to Style Tweed

Every great once in awhile you come across a piece that stops you in your tracks and screams “buy me buy me”. I found just such a last month when I visited White House Black Market. My golden find was the tweed jacket featured below. I had seen just such a jacket in a previous edition of Instyle magazine and I fell in love instantly. When I found this version there was no way that I could turn it down. The fit was impeccable in that it hit just at the hip and was tailored at the waist creating an hourglass shape.  For those of you that have been following my quest to build the perfect wardrobe, take note that a tweed jacket is a must have for every wardrobe. The classic take on the blazer can be styled in a variety of ways in order to give it an excellent cost per wear.

Styling Your Tweed Jacket for the Day

In the outfit featured below, your tweed jacket is ready for a variety of daytime events. You could wear this to lunch with the girls, on a marathon shopping trip or any other casual event. You could also pair the jacket with a distressed capri in order to give it a funky vibe. If you wanted to break away from the monochromatic look, you could opt to change the beige tank top out for one with a pop of color in order to add interest.

image

Styling Your Tweed Jacket for Evening

This jacket would also be a great option for an evening event. Pair your tweed jacket with a tan trouser or a pressed black slack. Oftentimes by simply switching out your pant, you can dramatically change the look of your outfit. Evening is also a great time to don a shimmery top under your tweed jacket.  Pair your look with an embellished heel and you are ready for almost any occasion.

As you are building your perfect wardrobe, look for pieces like the tweed jacket that are classic in cut and color. These pieces will provide value to your wardrobe while at the same time expanding the options that you have for every season.   The more options that you have the further that you have stretched your wardrobe dollars. After all, style on a budget is the perfect marriage no matter which way you slice it.

Linking With:

RaeGunWear

My Girlish Whims

The Vintage Apple

Because Shanna Said So

Rolled Up Pretty

I am Pisces W

Adorned From Above

Today With Tennerys

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on January 23, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a gorgeous sparkly tweed. But yet still classic to wear to various events. I think tips on wearing tweed area always appreciated!

    -Mia
    http://www.msmiamaree.com

Leave a Reply

