Top 4 Steps to Organized Style

Effortless style begins with your style organization process.  The better your closet looks, the better you will look.

1. Choose an Inspiration Method

Everyone needs a style inspiration board that suits their needs. For some that inspiration board is a bulletin board style pin  up that hangs in their closet. Others choose a high tech version of an inspiration board like pinterest or polyvore.  Your inspiration board will be where you keep outfits that you have crafted, created, or tagged for future use.  I personally use a combination of all methods. I randomly clip outfits I like from magazines (which is what you see here) I laminate them, place a hole in the picture with a hole punch and then place a ring through the group of pictures and tack them on my inspiration board with a thumbtack.  As I am getting dressed, I have several options to choose from when I put my look together for the day.

image



2. Edit, Edit, and Edit Some More

Most people think to edit their closet in January as part of their urge to purge in the New Year, but you should actually edit your wardrobe on a regular basis. Begin in January when the idea is fresh in your mind by making sure all your hangers are facing the same way. Then, as you wear each piece, turn the hanger in the opposite direction. At the end of the exercise,  you will be able to see which pieces that you have yet to wear. Those pieces are the ones that should be either tossed or donated depending on their condition. After each season is over, you can make an effective decision about what you should and should not keep. If you went an entire season without finding a reason to wear it, the piece did not pass the must have test.

3. Create a Rotation Schedule

If you have a limited amount of space in your closet, then you may opt to create a rotation schedule where you store your off-season clothes in another location in an effort to leave more space in your closet for the current season.If you have more room in your closet, then not only can you see all of your options at once, but it also prevents damage caused by other hangers. If you choose to store your clothes then look for airtight containers that will keep moisture away from your clothes, protecting them from damage. If possible, store your off season clothes in a cedar lined container that will keep them away from unwanted pests that can cause damage.

4. Go Forth and Shop From Your List

Once you have built your inspiration board and edited your closet appropriately  you are ready to shop for the missing pieces in your wardrobe. Use your inspiration board as the source for the pieces necessary to complete your looks. Once you have identified the items that you need, you are ready to shop.

Everyone wants to personify effortless style. That personification begins at your closet. When your closet is in order, your style is sure to follow.

Linking with:

Create With Joy

This Gal Cooks

Yolo Monday
Market Yourself Monday

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on January 20, 2013, in Bargain Shopping, Closet Organization, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 44 Comments.

  1. Ah, I just to have a personal style and I loved it. Then I opted to stay home w/little man for a bit and sweatpants and t-shirts have become the norm. Not something I’ll miss, but the comfort level is undeniable. 🙂 Thank you for the post!

  2. Great post – I love the edit, edit, edit philosophy and try to adhere : > Thanks for sharing with Visible Monday.

  3. I am pinning this:) I need to re-evaluate my whole wardrobe.

  4. Cute! I just wished it was warm enough (around my neck of the woods) to wear it! 🙂

    I’m a new follower from the Sunday Social link-up. If you would like to share this, pop in to my blog, we have the Creative Corner link-up on-going this week. We love to see you there!

    Sandy
    Cherished Handmade Treasures

  5. COMPLETELY agree with it all…especially the constant edit of your closet…it gets out of control and overwhelming if you only do it once a year…I am usually every 2/3 months…
    C

  6. I love the idea of an inspiration board for clothing. I tend to wear the same things over and over again.

  7. So true! I constantly go through my closet to see what I have going on in there and to reconnect with old pieces. I did a similar post about how to avoid wardrobe amnesia because often times we have want we want right there. It’s good to keep things fresh in your mind!

  8. Hi Leslie! Visiting from the SITS site. You’ve inspired me to put a little more thought into what I wear each day. I’m a hard-to-fit size so even if I do an inspiration board, finding the right clothes that look great on me isn’t always easy (and can be downright discouraging). But, it’s no excuse not to look great–especially when it’s so easy to just stay in comfy clothes since I work from home. Thanks for the great tips! I’m gonna share this with my teen daughters–they’ll like your inspiration board idea!

  9. Stopping by from SITS! Love the idea of turning the hanger in the opposite direction after wearing the garment. Great post!

  10. What great tips!! There are SO many pieces in my closet that are hanging but I never really use. I need to do some editing for sure! I love pinterest for outfit ideas!! When I am going somewhere special I usually go to my board of saved outfits for some inspiration.

    Enjoy your SITS day!

  11. Great post, I need to reorganize my closet desperately and try to update old pieces or get rid of them! visiting from SITS!

  12. I have my clothes sorted by work and not work. I like your ideas of the pin ups. Thanks for the ideas. Enjoy your SITS Day.

  13. {Melinda} This is great! 🙂 I have a teenage girl in my house and she is my fashion coordinator! She never hesitates to tell me what’s “cool”

  14. What great ideas!!! I am always looking in my closet and can’t put the outfits together that I would like… thanks for the tips!! Happy SITS day!!

  15. I am ALWAYS editing because my husband and I share a closet and we each have one little dresser.

  16. I need to be better at getting rid of clothes I no longer wear. I have two bins under my bed that I can’t remember looking at in the past year!

  17. Editing is so key, isn’t it? I need to work on that!

  18. I try to purge a few times every year, love your blog and I absolutely love Polyvore. I’ve created a few inspirational outfits myself.

  19. Great tips! I did a closet clean out towards the end of last year and found all sorts of stuff in there that I have never worn…shame on me! Definitely going to be doing it on a regular basis from now on! I like the hanger idea!

  20. I find myself getting stuck in a rut a lot. I have my favorite outfits, and I usually end up wearing them again, and again, and again, and again. Perhaps a rotation schedule would be good for me. That way, I’m forced to try something different because my old favorites aren’t within easy reach.

  21. wow..these are good tips and certainly easy to apply to everyday styles..thanks for putting them together 🙂 Visiting you from SITS.

  22. I would have never thought to do this for my outfits, but it sounds like a super organized system. Thanks for sharing, and happy SITS day!

  23. Great tips! I have an inspiration binder in my closet and it does really help to put pieces together. So true that the purging and cleaning is ongoing, in fact, my closet is due for this!

  24. I love the rotation schedule idea!

  25. This is so helpful! I love the idea of an inspiration board! I end up saving tons of magazines with ideas of outfits I like, but then I have so many that I either throw them out or forget what was in them. I can’t wait to create my own inspiration board and keep it in my closet! Happy SITS Day!

  26. You lost me at organized. Though I secretly wish I could look as put together as some other women seem to.

  1. Pingback: Organization Tips

  2. Pingback: My Fashion Forward Blog - The SITS Girls

  3. Pingback: How to Successfully Shop Your Closet | myfashionforwardblog

Leave a Reply

