Plaid Can Be Rad

In my quest to get out of my comfort zone, the next stop on my fashion adventure will be to tackle the challenging world of plaid. I see it on other people and think how amazing it looks, so I figured why not me? Along the way, I found some bumps in the road that made me think there was definitely a story in there somewhere. So, here goes with what I found as I learned that plaid can be rad, even on me…

What is Plaid?

Plaid is the term given to a fabric that is created by weaving or dyeing perpendicular stripes and bands of color.

Types of Plaid

A tartan is a balanced plaid that has the same vertical and horizontal design so they look the same. These are the most common plaid and have a square appearance. Madras are the plaid that is most often associated with the country club style and uses bright colors printed on a lightweight design. The Glen Plaid is also referred to as a houndstooth design. It is created with using a combination of small and large checks. Finally, there is a Buffalo Check. This pattern is most closely associated with the lumberjack trade and is a pattern of large square checks in two alternating colors.

Selecting the Correct Plaid

Choosing the Right Plaid

Choosing the right plaid is about selecting a pattern that is appropriate for your shape. If you have a petite frame, opt for a smaller plaid like a houndstooth that will not overwhelm your frame. The larger the pattern, the more tailored the fit needs to be in order to avoid looking frumpy or sloppy. Larger patterns can be a good alternative if you choose to wear a tunic. Just add a dark colored belt in order to add shape and create the coveted hourglass.

Plaid is one of those tricky patterns that not everyone is willing to try. I am on a quest to break those stereotypes and break out of my mold at the same time. Here’s hoping you will join me on my journey and discover something new about you along the way.

Linking with

Raegunwear
The Vintage Apple
I am Pisces W
Adorned from Above
TransatlanticBlonde
Wordless Wednesday
Wardrobe Wednesday
My Girlish Whims

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on January 16, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Blog hopping – I have on plaid loafers today!

  2. Plaid is great! Thanks so much for sharing at Wednesday’s Adorned From Above Blog Hop.
    Debi and Charly @ Adorned From Above
    Bethany @ Whistle and Ivy

  3. I love plaid on my guys, but I’m not a fan of it on myself.

  4. I do love patterns they are fun. Thanks for being a wardrobe Weds player this week.

  5. I love this guide! My husband’s family is originally from Scotland and I’ve been researching their family tree to find their tartan so that I can get them some gifts, but now I might get myself a gift, too! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Breaking the Pattern « myfashionforwardblog

Leave a Reply

