Choosing the Perfect Spring Cardigan

Look in your closet right now…go ahead I’ll wait. How many cardigans do you own? Are they all the same color or style? One of the biggest mistakes that people make when they shop is that they fail to shop with a purpose and end up with a closet full of random pieces that have no purpose. This season break out of your rut and shop with a purpose starting with your cardigan.

Step 1: Select the Right Fit

The most important factor to consider when choosing any new piece is the fit.  Look for the perfect length, the perfect sleeve length and the perfect fit in the bust. Start by selecting the perfect length. When it comes to building a fashion forward cardigan collection you need both a long and a short cardigan version. The short version of your cardigan should end just above the hip in order to create shape while still leaving room to add a belt if needed in order to highlight your waistline. The longer version of your cardigan should land just above the knee. Next, look at the sleeve length. The sleeve is the right length if it lands at the top of the wrist. Finally, look at the fit at the bust. When you button or zip the cardigan, the center of the cardigan should lay flat against your chest. If the bust area shows signs of strain, the cardigan is too small. If the bust area is inverted, then the cardigan is too big. The flowered cardigan featured below is a great short option.

image

Step 2: Select a Variety of Styles

Next, look for several different style varieties. Select a combination of pieces where some button and some zip.  Then, look for a variety of sleeve styles in order to draw their attention towards your face.  I chose the piece featured below for the interest that was created by the lace back. Look for those small details that will set your piece apart from the ordinary.

image

Step 3: Select the Right Color Combination

Finally, choose a variety of fashion colors as well as neutral colors in order to create the most versatile combinations possible. Find a cardigan in white, beige, black and grey so that all your neutral options are covered. Then, branch out into some of the season’s hot colors. This season look for a great coral and aqua cardigan to compliment your collection.

image

Style is all about what you make of it…so make it great by stocking your wardrobe with the right ammunition and you are sure to score big with fashion forward style.

Linking with
My Turn for Us
Raising Reagan
Yolo Monday
Monday Linkup
Market Yourself Monday

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on January 13, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I love cardigans they are so cute and classy. Great post and i love the black and white cardigan you have in the first photo. As a matter of fact I think I am going to rock one today. Mixing up with you. #MTMmixer

  2. Oh great fashion advice and love it. Seriously, love trying to put cute looks together when I still can, so thanks for the advice. Visiting from Raising Imperfection Link-up today!!

  3. Helpful and practical as always!

  4. I am really getting into color and my wardrobe isn’t all black and white and grey anymore! I am super stoked for Spring!

    Thank you for linking your post to Raising Imperfection
    Please come back Friday to see if you were featured! 🙂
    Good luck!

    xoxo
    Lanaya
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

  5. I feel the need to go cardigan shopping!

    Thanks for sharing your favorite post at Raising Imperfection! We feature our favorites on Friday, make sure to come back and check.
    Leslie
    http://www.violetimperfection.com

  6. Looking forward to spring shopping!

  7. I just started venturing into cardigans. I love them now! Thank you for the tips.

    Newest follower via the GFC Blog Hop.

    Analilia via Ride The Spiral

  8. Great tips for shopping, and for shopping our closets too. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with Visible Monday!

  9. I’m a cardi girl through and through. I wear one nearly every day. Does that make my wardrobe drab? Oh well 😉 They’re lovely for wearing to school (I teach) to keep me warm and covered up. Thanks for the tips today. Found you from Covered in Grace.

  10. TFS!!! Great tips!! Stopping by from Sumo’s Sweet Stuff and following you on FB. Here is what I shared this week: http://craftybrooklynarmywife.blogspot.ca/2013/01/fun-fur-boa-scarf.html

  11. Great tips..I am not much of a cardigan wearer, but I have spied a few cute ones for Spring that I might have to scoop up! Happy Wednesday.
    C

  1. Pingback: The Down and Dirty on Denim for Spring « myfashionforwardblog

  2. Pingback: The Fashion Forward Formula | myfashionforwardblog

Leave a Reply

