Choosing the Best Color for Your Skintone

My Fashion Forward BlogFashion is about color but not all color is created equal and not all color is meant to be worn by everyone. Color choices for your fashion forward wardrobe should be chosen based on your particular skin tone. The undertones of your skin will impact how color looks on you.

Step 1. Take the Skin Tone Test

Do you tan easily and rarely burn? Do the veins on your wrist appear greenish?……you have a yellow to olive undertone in your skin….if you are still unsure then take the fabric test if you look better in brown and off-white then you fall in this category

Do you burn easily and often seem flushed? Do your veins appear blue?…you have a pink or bluish-red skin tone…if you are still unsure take the fabric test…if you look better in white and black then you have a cool skin tone

If you have identified your skin tone as being yellow to olive then you have a warm skin tone. If you have a pink or bluish-red skin tone then you have a cool skin tone.

Skintone guide

Step 2. Identify the Best Colors for Your Skin Tone

Colors for Warm Skin Tones:

  1. off white or brown
  2. gold
  3. deep greens
  4. reds
  5. oranges

Colors for Cool Skin Tones:

  1. white
  2. black
  3. platinum or silver
  4. lemon yellow
  5. pastels
  6. ruby or sapphire

Step 3 : Shop for Your Signature Color

Once you have identified your skin tone and the color that looks best on you, then the real fun begins. It is time to venture out to the stores and fill your closet with an ample supply of your signature color.

Identifying your skin tone and signature color is only one step in creating a fashion forward wardrobe. Don’t forget to then swing by and learn how to get out of the box style by Decoding the Color Wheel. After all fashion is what you buy, signature style is what you do with it.

Linking with
Rae Gun Wear
My Girlish Whims
Vintage Apple
What I wore
Rolled up Pretty
Followers to Friends
Because Shanna Said So
Create Hope Inspire
Adorned from Above
2 just B you

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on January 9, 2013, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Having clothing that complements skin tone is so important. It can make all the difference in how the outfit looks on someone.

  2. Really useful guide! Also, shifting the tones in your lipstick, cheek and eye colour toward the clothing you wear helps expand your range a bit. However, there are colours I’d never wear near my face no matter what!

  3. My signature color is definitely cobalt!

  4. Love this! My boyfriend complimented my dress last week saying it went well with my skin and surprisingly he was somehow correct!

    Thanks for linking up this week for the Followers to Friends Blog Party!

    Sherry @ I AM PISCES
    Followers to Friends Blog

  5. Good Tips! I’m definitely a warm toned girl and really enjoy gold’s and reds….but I do love sapphire too:)

    Raj
    Pink Chai Style

  6. Good to know, thanks! Visiting from Diana’s Pin Me Party. 🙂

  7. Great post! I love cool tones, they work for me 🙂 My favorite being jewel tones, like emerald!

  8. This is such an interesting concept! Thanks for sharing! I just discovered your blog through the hop…and look forward to reading more.

  9. dianaramblesdotcom

    Many years ago a think called color draping was quite popular. I want to say there was some kind of home party for it. I am a spring. Warm colors look best! Thanks for linking this up!

  10. Such a great refresher on skin tones and color guides. It surely works, I’m a red head with cool tones and just luv pastels. A new follower from the Meet and Greet Blog Hop. Hope you can drop by my blog as well.

    Anne Marie
    http://moanasuniquedesigns.blogspot.com/

  1. Pingback: Choosing the Best Clothes For Your Shape « myfashionforwardblog

  2. Pingback: Wearing Springs Hottest Makeup Trends « myfashionforwardblog

  3. Pingback: Go Red: Choosing and Styling the Color Red « myfashionforwardblog

  4. Pingback: Creating A Flattering Wardrobe « myfashionforwardblog

Leave a Reply

