From Wardrobe Inspiration to Reality

For those of you who have been following along on my style journey you have heard me speak often about My Inspiration Board. Last spring I found this picture in one of the many fashion magazines and I instantly went on a mad search for the top. I had all the other components and thought it would be a great addition to My Vacation Wardrobe.

Inspiration Boards

I finally found the object of my affection at an H&M in Chicago while I was in town training. I immediately snagged it and set out to recreate the wardrobe from my inspiration board.  However, the one thing about creating style on a budget is that there are guidelines that I follow when it comes to making a purchase. It is in no way economical for me to purchase a top for one outfit for one season. In order to make my purchase worthwhile I needed to find alternate ways to wear my new shirt. Fast forward to fall and my mission has been accomplished.

Layering for fall

I love these distressed capris even in fall and winter. Let’s face it when you live in Texas there are years that I can wear shorts to Christmas dinner. I am also  a firm believer in layering for interest and shape. I have lots of pieces that can be worn over other pieces to add interest to whatever new top I found that week. Typically, as a rule of thumb, your top piece should be in a neutral color if you plan to get more bang for your buck. If you have layering pieces in the season’s hottest colors then it will be more memorable than a neutral color. The key to seeming like you wear a new outfit everyday is to strike the right balance between neutral and fashion pieces. So, the next time that you are out shopping think about where you currently are on the balance scale and choose wisely.

Linking up with:

Katherine’s Corner
Life in a Breakdown
Monday Meet Up

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on December 5, 2012, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Closet Organization, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. oh i like this top a lot!
    stripes have always been so cute!!!

    happy friday!

    Redheaded Daybook

Leave a Reply

