First Rate First Date

A first date can be one of the most exciting and most frustrating experiences of your life. Will I like him? Will he like me? All those thoughts racing through your mind can lead to one anxious evening. The last thing you want to have to worry about on an already anxious evening is what you look like. Here are some go to best practices for flawless first date style.

What to wear

On a first date opt for a subtle style combo. Don’t try anything over the top that may wind up being too dressy for the occasion and leave you feeling  out of place for the rest of the evening. Consequently, the same principle applies when it comes to dressing down. The way you are dressed says a lot about you as a person. Make sure that you are not leaving him with the impression that you are already not interested by failing to take pride in your appearance on the big day. Look for something that is going to make you feel feminine but comfortable at the same time. Shoes are an important consideration when it comes to first date style. This will be especially true if you are not sure of your activity. In that case your best option is a flat shoe in a stylish print. That will convey your love of fashion while at the same time allowing you to function comfortably in multiple settings. This example is a great option and follows all the first date suggestions. The dark denim can be dressed up or dressed down depending on where your date will take you. The dress shirt as a layering piece provides a dressy vibe while the knit sweater can be tailored to achieve a casual feel. With the jeans you can easily pair a patent leather flat that will be dressy enough to show you care, but functional enough to wear in multiple settings. Top it off with the statement necklace featured here and a bracelet and watch and you are ready for anything.

what to wear on a first date

Makeup Tips and Tricks

A first date is very similar to a first impression in that you only get one. That memory is one that will follow you throughout the course of your relationship so it is important to make it a good one. When choosing makeup for your first date opt for soft, classic colors. This is not the time to bring out that bright blue lipstick that you have been dying to try. It is essential that he is not so distracted by your makeup choices that he is unable to concentrate on what it is that you are actually saying. Also make sure that you do not choose this particular opportunity to test a radically new technique. You will be nervous enough without worrying about if the false eyelashes that you tried for the first time are floating in your soup. Also, choose one focus area when it comes to eyes and lips. Do not try to be bold on both fronts. You want him to understand that you do put effort into your appearance, but it is also important to center his attention around one central area.

Fragrance

If you are looking to try something new on your first date, then fragrance is the way to go. Look for something out of the ordinary and maybe a little more expensive than you would normally wear. This is afterall a special occasion and you want to treat it as such. When it comes to applying your fragrance however, make sure not to overwhelm your date by applying too much perfume. He should not know what you smell like before he even sees you. Take into account too that some people have allergies or an aversion to certain smells and you do not want to make him uncomfortable either.

First dates can be nerve racking and the key to success is to choose an outfit that will give you confidence and make you feel at ease. Afterall if you know you look good, then he will too.

Linking up With
Create With Joy
Lip Gloss and Crayons
Covered in Grace
Market Yourself Monday

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on December 1, 2012, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Love this! I haven’t been on a first date in a long time…don’t need to since I’m happily married, but I DO need to go on a date with my husband that I treat like a first date =)

    Thank you for joining in the list building hop….I’m all signed up!

  2. Bear With Me…good advice…enjoyed your blog, love fashion…celebrating 30 yrs this January♫

  3. Confidence is the secret, I agree! (happily mated for 20 years). Great post, thanks for sharing with Visible Monday.

  4. This is an excellent read, and great tips! I really don’t date much. I don’t have much of a social life at the moment, because of my tight budget, but I’m going to keep this for future reference. I am always so nervous on the first date. My problem is stuttering during conversation. My words just get all jumbled. I’m kind of shy when it comes to guys so it is hard for me.But this will be very helpful for the future. Love your blog Leslie!

    Sarah

    • Thanks Sarah..I understand about the social life part between work and two kids my husband and I rarely get out alone. Unless you count the grocery store dates are few and far between.

  5. stopping by from SITS. Great tips and I’m very glad not to have to have any more first dates, but still good advice on the odd night the husband and I get out of the house.

  6. Thanks…I will share for those that need this.

  7. Ahhhhhhhhhh, first dates. It’s been a while for me. Haha! Love the stripes!

  8. Fun tips, but I definitely do not miss first dates. Looking forward to tips for dates when married for years 😉

  9. Hey!I really like your style, I just wanted to let you know my blog shop right now is changed to like my styles 🙂 Enjoy!xoxo Heidie

Leave a Reply

