The Place For Lace is Everywhere

In our Fashion Friday Series we explored the rules behind wearing lace in the office. Today it’s all about wearing lace in our everyday life. For a long time I avoided lace for fear that I would end up on the wrong end of the style spectrum. I have found recently thought that I am developing a more adventurous side and trying things I have avoided up until this point. My first adventure was in the arena of faux fur and I consider that a success, which gave me the confidence to venture into the world of lace for everyday. I found this particular top at Express and was able to pick it up for only $19 by using a birthday gift card that I received from them. There were two options at the store, one in red and one in black. The black option would have been the safer bet, but I chose to opt for the red by telling myself that this was supposed to about adventure and red was adventure. The following outfit is what I came up with and I am a little proud if I do say so myself.

Styling Leather and Lace for fall

The short jacket is one of the gems that I picked up at an end of the season sale a few years back. Remember the key to building a cool leather collection is to shop off-season and stock up for next year. So mark your calendars, January is almost here and that means there will be cool leather to be had by all. When you style a short jacket or cardigan for that matter, it’s all about achieving balance. Pair your short jacket with a longer tank or shirt that hits you just below the hip bone.  Be careful of choosing a top that is too short because you will appear shorter. If you choose a tank that it too long, then you appear more sloppy than polished. As for jeans I wore this with a high knee-boot for a biker chick feel, but you could just have easily worn it with a bootcut jean and a black heel that will be a little dressier. The morale of the story is that sometimes an effort to get outside the box will actually make your box bigger, mine did.

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on November 29, 2012, in Bargain Shopping, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist, Thrifty Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

