Retail Stalker Or Passive Shopper You Decide

What would fall be without a rocking leather (or pleather) jacket? As the first leaves turn golden, we pull out the trusty friend from past seasons and begin looking for new ways to incorporate her into our new season.  For this edition of Thrifty Thursday I want to pay homage to an oldie but a goodie, a brown pleather biker jacket I found at an end of season sale. This brown pleather jacket is one of my personal favorites because of the incredible price that I paid. I found it on the clearance rack for a mere $19.99. At that price, I was able to snag this one in brown, a black alternative, and a grey option. Here I paired it with a skinny jean and a biker inspired lace up boot for a lunch date with my hubby.

The trick to building a great leather collection is to stalk the sales cycle of your favorite retailer. All retailers will have an end of season sale where they clearance merchandise out in preparation of the next season, but depending on your size your options may be limited.  If you have a certain piece that you are eyeing then it is important to monitor sales and promotions for that item. In Sunday Is Sign Day- The Fashion Forward Guide to Saving A Bundle,  we covered the sales cycle that most retailers follow, so it is important to check on Friday and Sunday for the new promotions that your favorite retailer offers. Decide on your price threshold (what you are willing to pay for the item) and when it hits that mark, pounce and purchase.  If shopping does not happen to be your drug of choice, and visiting a retailer twice a week is not exactly your cup of tea, then you are in luck.   Lyst.com will do the work for you. Simply sign up for the site and link it to your Pinterest board and anytime that an item that you have pinned goes on sale you receive an email notification.

Whether you are a retailer stalker or a passive shopper is up to you, and for either, there is an app for that as we covered in  There’s An App For That. Find the niche that works for you and then use it to reach the ultimate goal…finding the place where budget and style meet for you. I did and I have never looked back.

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on November 22, 2012, in Bargain Shopping, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist, Thrifty Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great jacket. What a steal!

  2. New follower from WBH. Nice blog! Would love a re-follow!
    https://www.facebook.com/SimpleAesthetic

    Hilary
    ww.simpleaesthetic.com

  3. score!!! Thank you for linking to the Thursday Favorite Things blog hop. xo

  4. Great post..especially pinterest sale notification site…tweeted 🙂 C

Leave a Reply

