It’s A Jungle Out There Style It Well

Every wardrobe whether it is classic or modern should contain animal print.  Animal prints like leopard and zebra print are one of those fashion staples that never goes out of style. The only thing that changes when it comes to animal print is how you style it, and this season is no different. From the runway to the walkway, animal print was everywhere in all it’s glory.  Now the only question to answer is what are the style guidelines for this season?

Decide on the level of style commitment that you want  to make. Capitalizing on the animal print trend can be as simple as purchasing an animal print accessory. I have both a leopard print and zebra print scarf that can be paired with almost any item in my closet. I have to wear a solid black top to work everyday (eek) and so I am able to spice up my outfit by accessorizing well. When I am not at work, I like to pair the scarves with a bright-colored button down shirt and jeans for a casual feel.  I also have some animal print jewelry that I use in much the same way.  If you want to be a little bit more adventurous, then you can opt for an animal print top. In the outfit featured above, I am rocking the trend with a leopard print tunic, which is quickly becoming my favorite animal print piece in my closet. I love the embellished detail at the neckline it makes it fun and easy and eliminates the need for a necklace. Typically, I style this piece with a black legging and a flat shoe. We also featured a zebra print top in Fashion Friday the Best In Casual Stlye, (https://myfashionforwardblog.wordpress.com/2012/11/01/fashion-friday-the-best-in-casual-style/  ) that is a great option for incorporating animal print in the workplace with our series on style for Casual Friday. The final way to rock a trend is to go all in and select an animal print bottom. If you are willing to take your passion for fashion that far, then there are a few cardinal rules to follow.  Do not take the trend to the extreme. If you are doing an all over print on the bottom, then opt for subtly on top by rocking a solid top. You can opt for a bright color that is not necessarily represented in the pattern, but avoid pairing two separate animal prints together, the look is simply too busy.

Now it’s up to you…how will you rock the animal print trend this season?

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on November 21, 2012, in Bargain Shopping, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist, What I Wore Wednesday, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Love that top. I love anything leopard.

  2. Ohmygosh, do you bring a mannequin around to show off the clothes?! That’s so cool. 🙂 And leopard print is awesome!

  3. OOh very cute!! I like it! I didn’t think I was a fan of leopard print until recently when I bought a dress and it looked great, so I’m expanding into jungle territory I guess! haha. 🙂

  4. This is a lovely top/dress (I’d love to see you rocking your great ensembles!!!) Thanks for joining up with Wardrobe Weds :o)

  5. Oh I can never get enough animal print! Be merry and bright!

  1. Pingback: The Swirl Wins It For Fashion Friday « myfashionforwardblog

  2. Pingback: The Pattern Maker « myfashionforwardblog

Leave a Reply

