Fur As Style Friend or Faux

Faux fur for me has always been one of those areas of fashion that I steered clear of.  I was always too afraid that I would end up looking like someone who was playing dress up and failed miserably. I made a conscious decision that this season I would not let my fear overcome my passion for fashion. I set out on a mission to find the perfect piece of faux fur piece for fall. I wanted to find a piece that would provide shape and avoid the boxlike look that can happen with pieces that have no belt or clasps. I also needed a piece that would be versatile enough to make the investment worth my while. I didn’t want to make the mistake of buying a faux fur piece just to have one. I wanted a piece that I would wear in multiple settings so that I would get maximum wear out of it.  The result of my journey is featured below.
image

I found this crown jewel of my emerging fur collection on my trip to New York and Company when I went to redeem my City Cash. This particular piece met all my requirements so I decided to give it a try and headed to the dressing room. What I found was a piece that I fell in love with.  The combination of tan and black provides the versatility that I was looking for since the neutral palette can be style with almost any color of the rainbow. In this instance I chose to style it for a casual outing by pairing it with a skinny jean and a black flat. This outfit could be used for a day of shopping, lunch with the girls, or as a stylish option for a casual date night. You could also have paired it with a black trouser and be ready to head to the office in style. I added a pop of color by styling it with a red necklace but if you wanted to you could add additional flair by using a red undershirt or a red heel for some unexpected color.  When styling fur look for elements that add shape. In this case the belt and the gathered back panel to the trick. Also look for pieces that button as they also provide shape. However you choose to style it is really up to you but my advice for the day is to not let your fear guide your shopping habits. Make a conscious effort to step outside the box and try something you have never tried before, you won’t regret.  As for my ruling on the subject, the verdict is in and faux fur is definitely a style friend…

If you missed yesterday’s lesson, you’re in luck follow the link below to learn how to blaze you’re own trial in style with Blazing a Trail With Piping Detail.

https://myfashionforwardblog.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/blazing-a-trail-with-piping-detail/

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on November 19, 2012, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. That fur vest is so pretty.

  2. I really love it! I’m the same, I’ve always been scared of faux fur (and animal print), but over the last couple of years a few select pieces have made their way into my wardrobe. A faux fur deer stalker hat which keeps me cosy, a faux fur collar on my winter coat and a faux fur shrug which is fantastic for weddings. A touch of faux fur is classy 🙂

    Found you via Transatlantic Blonde!

    http://www.medicatedfollower.com/

  1. Pingback: With Puff Vests It Is All About Selection and Styling « myfashionforwardblog

  2. Pingback: The Place For Lace is Everywhere « myfashionforwardblog

  3. Pingback: Fall into Outerwear « myfashionforwardblog

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Fashion Rules to Follow From 2012 « myfashionforwardblog

Leave a Reply

