Rocking It Cargo Style

Once you have completed your shopping list that we created in Fall Fashion Finds, the Building Blocks of a Great Wardrobe  (https://myfashionforwardblog.wordpress.com/2012/09/06/fall-fashion-finds/ ) you can begin to supplement your wardrobe with additional classic pieces in order to provide you with additional wardrobing options. One piece that you will get a great deal of use from is the classic khaki pant. Depending on our own personal style there are two great styles of khaki pants to choose from. The first style that you could opt for is the docker style khaki pant that can be worn as an alternative to jeans on Casual Friday if you work in an office environment. Those pants are also a great option if you are just starting out in the workforce. The majority of businesses include either a black or khaki pant as part of their dress codes. Since khaki is a neutral color you will be able to mix and match your new pants with anything that you already own in your current wardrobe. Another option that you can choose when purchasing your next staple item is a cargo style khaki pant which you see featured in the outfit below. Cargo style pants are a casual pant that has pockets on sides of the pants that provide added interest.

 

I love these pants and wear them often. This particular style is a skinny jean version and I wear them with knee boots and flats on the few cold days we have here in Texas. Be careful when choosing a cargo style pant for you Casual Friday look however. Cargo pants are very casual and depending on your particular office atmosphere some businesses exclude them as part of their dress code. If you are making the investment as an option for workwear, consult your particular dress code prior to making the plunge.

This outfit is one that I love because its professional enough for me to wear to work, but comfortable enough that I can still function during the day. The jacket has a classic tailored look which helps to provide an hourglass shape look by buttoning in an inverted pattern.  The sleeves roll up to give a peekaboo cuff with a pinstripe design. The blue tee has an intricate flower pattern that means I do not need to add a necklace to my outfit as it will compete with the pattern on the shirt. The blue and black pairing also demonstrates the classic colorblocking trend that is so hot for fall that we explored earlier this week in Black and Blue and You Can Too(https://myfashionforwardblog.wordpress.com/2012/11/06/black-and-blue-and-you-can-too/ ).

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on November 9, 2012, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Casual Friday, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Friday, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve never liked the effect khaki pants have on my own figure, but they often look good on others. The blazer is very nice.

    Visiting from the I Love My Post blog hop.

Leave a Reply

