Thrifty Thursday and the Golden Find

As I have stated before, shopping is my sport of choice and my version of a home run is when I score that next big deal. My love for shopping includes the thrill of the hunt and the deal I can score with sales and coupons. Yesterday’s project was to hit the stores and build an amazing outfit to wear on my birthday date night with my hubby. So, yesterday I set out on my mission armed with store bucks, coupons and, birthday rewards. My mission ended at Express and the outfit featured below was the fruit of my labor.

The regular price of the dress is $70 and I paid $30.06. The regular price of the necklace is $30 and I paid $9.76. The regular price of the belt is $30 and I paid $9.77.  The dress itself was slightly shorter than I was comfortable with so I paired the dress with the black basic legging I found on sale for $9.99.  I picked up a deep red wristlet that I paid only $6.29 for. Finally, to achieve over the top style, I will be rocking my favorite pair of black high-heeled knee boots to complete the look.

The best way to score the biggest deals is to shop before you need the item. If you follow that simple rule, then you can monitor sales and take advantage of coupons available in order to avoid paying full price. The first step to shopping before you need items is to create your shopping list. In our previous article The Building Block of A Fall Wardrobe ( https://myfashionforwardblog.wordpress.com/2012/09/06/fall-fashion-finds/) we explored how to evaluate your wardrobe and begin a must have shopping list. Once you have identified the basic pieces that you are able to add to your wardrobe, the next step is to create a list of trend pieces that you want to add. Then, simply monitor the sales cycle of that piece until it hits a price point that you are willing to pay for it.  For me this year it was the colorblock trench from Outerwear Meets Southern Fried Style ( https://myfashionforwardblog.wordpress.com/2012/10/28/outerwear-meets-southern-fried-fall-style/ ). I watched that trench until I found a deal that I could not resist and my reward is currently hanging in my closet. Can you say happy dance? The same principle can be applied to events that you are going to attend. Take the outfit featured above for example. That outfit is for my birthday dinner with my hubby which isn’t until the end of the month. I was able to take advantage of a great deal and not have to settle for an outfit that wasn’t necessarily my favorite because I planned ahead. Fashion is fun. Fashion is affordable, and if you plan your route correctly, you too can score that next big deal.

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on November 1, 2012, in Affordable, Bargain Shopping, Fashion, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Those are some great deals! Thanks for linking up! We’ll have the link up next week too!
    Tara
    Penniless Socialite
    Enter to win a $50 Shabby Apple gift card

  2. Great tips, love the blog! I look forward to it everyday : )

Leave a Reply

