Do Not Tug on My Superman Cape

Fall is a wonderful time when the store is filled with every type of crop jacket and trench imaginable. The other day I was walking innocently along and minding my own business when out of the corner of my eye I was struck by a new collection that was hitting the floor. I was drawn in and a few minutes later I was on my way orange cape in hand.

The trick to styling fall jackets with ease is to keep it simple. Most jackets have an interesting detail that is the anchor for the piece. It is important to highlight those elements and avoid distracting from them. In this case the cape design is a strong element so to avoid distraction we paired it with a brown fitted turtleneck. The jewelry is a simple white beaded piece that adds a small amount of bling without pulling your eyes away from the flap collar. The flap collar should stand alone so avoid trying to style a scarf or large statement necklace with the piece because then the collar is simply lost.

If orange is not necessarily your signature style, you can still rock the piece by choosing a neutral color like black. Neutrals are always a great way to try a trend in a cautious way. Black always says classic style so don’t be afraid to add a trend piece in black, it’s life span will pay for itself. Above all fashion is fun. Be bold and try something new, you will not regret it.

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on October 25, 2012, in Affordable, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I have an orange jacket and was going to wear it with a white t-shirt. I like the color combination you have in your pic.

  2. Such a fan of the capes, but still been too apprehensive to buy one. Your orange pick is awesome, looks great!!

  3. Ohhhh! I like this! I really like the turtleneck with the necklace. i wouldn’t think to do that but it looks really nice. I am definitely all about the orange too.

    Angela
    http://www.embraceenchanted.com/2012/10/do-this-now-dress-like-carrot-cake.html

  4. This is a very very nice jacket. I usually don’t do orange but this one is fabulous. Only problem living here in Florida, there isn’t much time to enjoy these.

    Khloe
    Recent Post: http://www.kgstyleblogs.com/2012/10/featured-item-fridays-holiday-event.html

  5. Every cape I’ve tried looks ridiculous on me, but this one looks like it could work. It almost has arms and a better shape. And, I love the color!

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Fashion Rules to Follow From 2012 « myfashionforwardblog

Leave a Reply

