Step Outside Your Comfort Zone

Shopping can be one of the most therapeutic experiences of your life or one of its most dreaded tasks depending on your point of view. For me shopping is my sport of choice. I love to put an idea for a look together in my head and then challenge myself to recreate that image in clothing. I enjoy the thrill of the hunt and the end result of  scoring the deal. My latest passion is styling bustier tops. They are my new purchase of choice. I love the feeling when you zip it up and it creates that hourglass shape that we all strive to portray. Not long ago however, I would have flipped right by this fabulous garment in the store based on the fact that I was not sure how to style it. One day though I had some free time in my local White House Black Market and I decided to be daring. From that day forward, I was hooked and my collection has grown from then on. The bustier that you see featured here is my latest triumph and my pick for anniversary dinner. The trick to styling a bustier with class is all about what goes over the bustier. Standing alone, the bustier can appear inappropriate for everyday wear, but if style right, it can hold its on at any fashion event there is. The jacket of choice is tailored and will help draw interest to the bustier by adding an unexpected element. In this outfit, the jacket has ruffled detail at the waist and a two tone look on the sleeve and collar. Can anyone say to die for? And just think, I almost passed on this prime fashion statement.  So, the next time you find yourself with an few extra minutes in your local retailer, step outside your comfort zone, you just might like what you find.

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on October 16, 2012, in Bargain Shopping, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Very cute! I’ve got too many extra pounds at the moment to make it look nice even with a jacket but do agree that it can look stylish and classy depending on how you style it. One of my favorite looks on others at an evening party is a pretty bustier with black slacks heels and simple jewelry and a sparkly bag. All about not over doing it with an already strong piece.

  2. I love this idea. I think it’s the perfect time to do this since the weather is changing & it can be covered up & comfy. Thanks for this post & my new idea! I’m stopping by from SITS, drop in to say hi if you get a moment?

    Nikki
    http://www.thecraftysideofsarcasm.com

Leave a Reply

