Everyone Has A Favorite

We may not all admit it but we all do it. Everyone has that one favorite thing in their closet that they just can not live without.  Some people base their choice of favorite on sentimental value. Some people base it on the great bargain that they found. Still others base their love on the way they look in an outfit. Bottom line everybody does it, and I am no different.

I did a survey a few months back on what was the one item that people just could not live without. The responses ranged from one end of the spectrum to the other, but everyone had an answer. Even the men got in on the action giving a shout out to their favorite brand of tennis shoe or favorite team shirt. The most interesting part of the survey to me was not what they chose but why they chose it. We all have a love of fashion, but we are drawn to our likes and dislikes for very different reasons. Those reasons are part of what makes up our overall style and makes us unique.

The favorite piece I own in my closet is a black leather jacket. I got it fifteen years ago as a Christmas present. It was the first Christmas I spent with my now husband. We had only been dating for about six months and I was not expecting much. That morning, I woke up and there it was under the tree, wrapped in a big box with a bright red bow. I was stunned. I was even more surprised when I found out the lengths he had gone to ensure that it was the perfect fit.  He enlisted the help of a friend who was the same size I was and spent the entire afternoon roaming from store to store to find the perfect jacket. He was looking for the right color, the right style and most of all the right sleeve length. I am not even 5 feet tall, so buying off the rack and getting a perfect fit is not always an option.  Mind you, this is a man who times my visits to the mall down to the second when he is ready to go. The lengths he went to to ensure that I had the perfect Christmas morning warmed my heart. I knew then and there he was a keeper, and every winter when I pull the jacket out of the closet, I am reminded that I was right.

The moral of the story is simple. Embrace what makes you you and shout it to the world in your style. Find a way to relive those treasured moments through the clothes you pull out of your closet, and give yourself a reason to smile daily. I do.

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on October 14, 2012, in Bargain Shopping, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I have these cut off shorts that seem to be my go-to shorts whenever a quick run to the store arises. I know I need to give them up but they are just my fav.

  2. I like that idea of embracing our favorites! Stopping over from SITS! 🙂

  3. My favorite is also my leather jacket. It can either make an outfit tough or fancy depending on how I accessorize it and I love it.

    Stopping by from SITS

Leave a Reply

