Investing In Your Future

The power suit is making a comeback. At some point in your career, you will be faced with the unnerving task of trying to impress someone. This milestone may come in the form of an interview, or in the form of a presentation that can make or break your career. At that point, you will have enough on your plate without having to worry about what to wear. The heart palpitations you often get from wardrobe anxiety can be avoided by preparing now. Even if you do not need it tomorrow, a power suit needs to be added to your shopping list. This is an item that needs to be in every closet. So, what is a power suit? A power suit is a business suit of sorts. I took a course in college called building your work wardrobe, and the lessons I learned  in that class have found their way into my adult life. I was taught that when building your work wardrobe, it must include at least one skirt. Considering the fact that I had not worn a skirt since I was five I was highly skeptical. I tried to have an open mind as I listened to all the statistics about how powerful women are more approachable in a skirt. I was however, still not sold. Even though I didn’t necessarily buy into the theory, if the task involved shopping I was willing to try it out. So, off I went to my home away from home, the mall. I searched high and low, determined to at least be able to say I gave it the old college try. Then, I found the answer. The pinstriped suit you see featured above. I could visualize myself walking into that power meeting in a black knee boot and stealing the show. I had to have it.  The moral of the story is simple. Have an open mind when shopping. Just because you have never worn it does not mean you shouldn’t. Start your own mission to find the power suit that will boost your confidence. When you find it, hang it in your closet and wait for the opportunity to wow your fans. All right, that may be a little dramatic. You should still have it on hand though to be prepared for the day you need that extra boost of confidence if you are to shine on your important day. The clothes you wear can make all the difference in the attitude you project. If you think you look good, others will too.

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on October 2, 2012, in Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style, Stylist, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

