Fall Fashion Finds- The Building Blocks of a Great Wardrobe

The time has come to retire the tank tops and flip-flops for the season and dust off the skinny jeans and knee boots for fall.  September is the ideal month to execute a wardrobe evaluation. Retailers are previewing their fall collections while they clearance out spring and summer leftovers.  Prior to beginning your shopping mission, it is imperative to take an inventory of your pieces from last fall. Look for any items that may have minor defects but are still salvageable and send them to the cleaners. One key relationship to cultivate is with the seamstress at your local dry cleaners. This person can save you a bundle of money by saving those precious pieces that are missing a button or have a loose hem. They are also a great resource when a piece you find needs a slight alteration to be a perfect fit. For example I used to have the most difficult time finding jeans. At 4 feet 11 inches I am not exactly a manufacturers target audience. Sure, there are short fits available, but never it seemed in the design I wanted. Now, with my connection at the dry cleaners, length is no longer a problem. In my opinion, that is the best eight dollars I could have ever spent. The next step is to create a shopping list. Every fall wardrobe has a few key pieces that are essential to fashion success.  The key to fashion success on a budget is to have a few go-to bottoms that can be mixed with more memorable tops. Invest in four key pieces of quality that can work for the entire season. Each wardrobe should contain a skinny jean, a boot-cut jean, a pair of black dress slacks and a pair of corduroys in a neutral color. Those four pieces will serve you in any situation that may arise this season. Happy hunting..the fun is truly in the hunt for the big savings score. For basics, I find the most affordable thing to do if you have missed the end of season sales is to hit an outlet center. Their prices are typically less than in a traditional store for virtually the same product.

About @mfashforward

I am a fashion obsessed working mom of twin teenagers. I have spent my career in the retail industry dressing others on a daily basis. Now, I must strike a delicate balance by remaining fashion forward and having my teenagers still acknowledge my existence. Follow me on a journey into my fashion world.

Posted on September 6, 2012, in Closet Organization, Fall, Fashion, Fashion Trends, Shopping, Style and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I seriously need to update my wardrobe. I have none of the key fashion pieces mentioned.

  1. Pingback: Thrifty Thursday and the Golden Find « myfashionforwardblog

  2. Pingback: Rocking It Cargo Style « myfashionforwardblog

  3. Pingback: Blazing a Trail With Piping Detail « myfashionforwardblog

  4. Pingback: The Swirl Wins It For Fashion Friday « myfashionforwardblog

  5. Pingback: Planting the Seeds of Spring Style « myfashionforwardblog

Leave a Reply

